In response to queries about the demand for a Kamtapur state, he underscored the unity in West Bengal, emphasising its status as a state where people from diverse communities, creeds, and beliefs coexist harmoniously.Moreover, he dismissed the notion of partitioning West Bengal, highlighting that there is no question of creating another state.Coincidentally, the Kamtapur People’s Party, wielding significant influence among the Rajbanshis in north Bengal and certain areas of lower Assam, has started pressurising the Centre and the BJP ahead of the Lok Sabha polls.Recently, it submitted a memorandum to the Prime Minister’s Office and the Union home minister, urging for the creation of a separate state and the inclusion of the Rajbanshi language in the eighth schedule of the Constitution.On whether CAA and NRC will have any impact on the elections, the TMC candidate said, “People here have been deprived of Constitutional rights for years. And now this CAA has created a panic. We are already the citizens of India and there is no need to prove our citizenship again.” Debraj Barman, who is backed by the Left and the Congress, cited widespread disillusionment with both BJP and TMC, particularly concerning unemployment and migration issues.”People are increasingly frustrated with both the BJP and the TMC due to their history of unfulfilled promises,” Barman articulated.”A significant number of educated youths remain unemployed, despite holding graduate degrees. In numerous villages, households are devoid of men as they have migrated to other states in pursuit of employment opportunities,” he said.Siliguri mayor Goutam Deb, a former MLA from Dabgram Fulbari who has been campaigning for TMC candidate, said that they have formulated “strategies to defeat the saffron party”.”We are sure of a win. People are frustrated with the false promises of the BJP. We can sense the change in the air. This time, TMC will win more seats in north Bengal, and Jalpaiguri will be one of them, where we will emerge victorious with a huge margin,” Deb told PTI over the phone.The electoral landscape also includes candidates from SUCI(C), BSP, and the Kamatapur People’s Party (United), reflecting diverse political participation.Historically, the constituency witnessed dominance by Congress till 1971, followed by CPI(M) until 2009, when TMC emerged victorious. In 2019, the BJP secured the seat.

Source link